Nutshell Album Review: Walk The Moon – Walk The Moon

Those of you who are familiar with the sound of Cincinnati-based electrofun band Walk The Moon will meet no surprises in this review.

The band’s self-titled album is no stranger to their original, upbeat and energetic sound. It includes synth heavy revamps of fan favorites like “Quesadilla” and “Lisa Baby”, along with the full 3 song Anna Sun EP that was released earlier this year. It isn’t until the eighth track that you will hear any material that is 100% new, and the anticipation is met with the upbeat “Shiver Shiver”, a song the band has been testing on it’s most recent tour. It is followed up with a 35 second teaser track called “Lions” and a significantly trimmed version of I Want! I Want!‘s slow, trancy ballad “Iscariot”. The next song is another new one called “Fixin'”, a song that blends Walk The Moon’s usual sound with Irish indie rock band Two Door Cinema Club. The album closes with a new take on another old favorite, “I Can Lift A Car”, with a much fuller sound and an extraordinary display of vocal range by lead singer Nicholas Petricca.

Even though the album is made up of widely old material, the reworkings of the popular tracks make a world of difference in turning these guys into a really solid band. By listening to the differences between I Want! I Want! and Walk The Moon, you can hear the growth the band has went through both as a cohesive unit and as individual performers. If these guys can keep working at this pace, they will be the next big thing. Overall, this album gets an 89/100. Check it out for yourself on June 19th.

Walk The Moon Tracklisting:

  1. Quesadilla
  2. Lisa Baby
  3. Next In Line
  4. Anna Sun
  5. Tightrope
  6. Jenny
  7. Shiver Shiver
  8. Lions
  9. Iscariot
  10. Fixin’
  11. I Can Lift A Car

Posted on June 14, 2012, in Album Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: