Nutshell Film/Album Review: The Twilight Saga- Breaking Dawn: Part II

Stephanie Meyer’s last installment of the Twilight Saga literally had my jaw stuck to that candy-crusted floor of my local AMC.

With the Nov. 16 debut making women, and fewer men (but still a few) swoon on a global level, I will admit that I can’t deny my excited anxiety as I braced myself for the start of the end of my slightly-obsessed adolescence.

Believe it or not, shallow or expected, I did once, and still kind of do, respect the Twilight Saga-reason being such an exaggerated storyline and fantastical plot still manages to consume my ideals and expectations.

Meyer was able to convince her readers and now moviegoers that this supernatural world is theirs- that love, no matter what the obstacles, prevails. Sappy? Possibly, but still, mad respect.

Another confession: from the time when I started the series at the middle of my eighth grade year, to the middle of my sophomore year, I have read the saga many- and I mean, many- times over.

As a reader, I knew the plot just as the characters experienced it. I was a character myself, as many Twi-hards believe they are currently.

As a viewer, I expected nothing less than that same effect. Stereotypically, we are told that no cinematic version of our beloved text, no matter what text it is, will ever hold up to the real deal.

The body of the film is by the book accurate, properly portraying the movie that plays on in the head of a Twilight reader.

The effects in this finale film top all the other movies.

From Renesmee, Edward and Bella’s half human-half vampire daughter, being completely computer generated for the first few scenes of her movie existence to the epic surprise scene that had me swearing the entire way through, the cinematography was impressive.

Bella, as played by the infamously awkward Kristin Stewart, finished her role as the mediocre self-conscious teen girl fairly well. The core staff that includes Taylor Lautner as Jacob Black, Robert Pattinson as Edward Cullen, Ashley Green as Alice Cullen and Billy Burke as Charlie Swan carried their weight too, finally showing a cohesiveness that lacked in previous Twilight films.

Not only do the visuals deserve accolades, but also the soundtrack is a strangely beautiful combination of artists.

The track list includes Passion Pit, Ellie Goulding, Green Day, and Feist, just to name the first four.

Typically, I would laugh at such a pairing. A confused mix-tape at best, maybe even an iPod’s shuffle option having a bit of fun. On a movie soundtrack? Unheard of other than for commercial reasons.

Luckily, this was not sloppily thrown together, and although each of these artists have sounds of their own, their versatility shown on the Breaking Dawn: Part II soundtrack also deserves a round of applause.

Ultimately, the film should be considered a success. For the Saga’s fans, triumph should feel sweet. For critics of the books and films, there is no denying that cinematically, Breaking Dawn: Part II was- dare I say it- a true work of animated and film art.

Posted on November 20, 2012, in Album Reviews, Movie Reviews. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

