Nutshell Album Review: Green Day – ¡Tré!

TreWe promise, we haven’t been slacking on the reviews for bad reasons. The answer as to why we have been gone for over a week is because we have spent that time going to awesome parties, rubbing elbows with band members, and throwing TVs out of hotel room windows from the journalist point of view. The honest answer is that everyone here is a student who is currently facing finals week. It makes us seem lame, though, so let’s go with the first answer.

Nonetheless, enter Green Day (for their third appearance on the site) to lead our comeback! ¡Tré! is the final installment of their colossal new album trilogy, and it is hyped up to be a combination of everything heard before by the band. This could get exciting, and at the same time breeds good things for the punk rockers that to this day have separate,  oh-so dedicated fan bases that center completely on just one of their albums. Putting all of their eggs in one basket may finally unite the fans who saw American Idiot on opening night with pre-sale tickets with the ones who liked, well, Nimrod.

The album opens with “Brutal Love”, which is basically an amazingly solid vocal performance by Billie Joe Armstrong. Its a bluesy, more jam-out style rock song that the group pulls off very well. Up next is “Missing You”, which sound a lot more like Green Day. A sort of “Jesus of Suburbia” type hooky song, with fast chord changes and good background vocals keeps this album off to an impressive start. “8th Avenue Serenade” sounds like a punky Dinosaur Jr., with a combination of the Green Day’s usual sound and today’s modern indie rock. With high strummed chords and poppy riffs, this song is definitely one to take a listen to. “Drama Queen” is one of the rare occasions that Armstrong breaks out the acoustic guitar, and the lyrics are actually a painful story about growing up. Could it be influenced by the frontman’s big four-oh in the back of everyone’s minds? Maybe, but it’s helping the band produce some very strong work.

“X-Kid” is the next track, and it keeps the theme of getting older with more force than the album has had to this point. The vocals do not have the normal gritty range fans are accustomed to, but they instead carry a sort of monotonous mumble that works well with the rest of the song. “Sex, Drugs & Violence”, beyond having a wonderful title, is such an unbelievable 90’s high-schooler song; so much that it deserves to appear in whatever the next sad rehashing of the American Pie series is. I’m sorry, but American Reunion was not a good idea. ANYWAYS. “A Little Boy Named Train” is another one that hits Green Day on an unprecedented level, and is one of the first examples of all of their former sounds being focused into one piece of work. “Amanda” is what follows, which is just a very solid pop punk song that is a believable fit on any album in the band’s catalog.

“Walk Away” has an arena rock undertone that opens up with a subdued guitar part that is alone with Armstrong’s vocals. “Dirty Rotten Bastards” was described by the bands as “all over the place”, and that is not far from the truth. In fact, it’s right on; the song hits a handful of tiny microsongs in the span of 6 and 1/2 minutes, put together in a similar way as “Jesus of Suburbia”. “99 Revolutions” goes back to the riff-based punk heard earlier on the album, and also takes on an expected pop punk sound. The record then closes out with “The Forgotten”, a soft-hearted piano ballad that has gotten praise from all across the market. A good way to end a 30+ song collection and prepare fans for the unknown future of what of the late-nineties biggest acts.

Green Day did something bold this year that has garnered a surprisingly small amount of attention. They released three albums in two months, completely skipping out on the whole process of cutting out unwanted tracks. It was a simple mindset that if they were playing the songs, they were going on one of the three albums, and it turned out to be an admirable project. Three albums later, they are back again and sounding like a band that knows exactly what they’re doing. This album trilogy has proved Green Day isn’t going anywhere anytime soon, and each album as an individual is still enough to give them a substantial amount of momentum. ¡Tré! brings thoughts of a possible new direction in the band, and comes out as the best album of the three album collection. It gets a 93/100 and it is available now.

¡Tré! Tracklisting:

  1. Brutal Love
  2. Missing You
  3. 8th Avenue Serenade
  4. Drama Queen
  5. X-Kid
  6. Sex, Drugs & Violence
  7. A Little Boy Named Train
  8. Amanda
  9. Walk Away
  10. Dirty Rotten Bastards
  11. 99 Revolutions
  12. The Forgotten

Posted on December 18, 2012, in Album Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: